

Home

## Home

## Minister Teodor Baconschi co-chaired New Group of Friends of Georgia meeting

Type: Press release Date: 04/14/11

Foreign Minister Teodor Baconschi has co-chaired today, 14 April 2011, alongside his Lithuanian and Czech counterparts, the works of the New Group of Friends of Georgia, held in the margin of the Berlin informal meeting of Ministers of Foreign Affairs from NATO countries.

The aspects approached at the meeting relate to the stage and prospects of Georgia's drawing closer to the North Atlantic Alliance, with emphasis on the need to fulfill the performance criteria and on the ways Group members can help spur the process.

"We welcome the remarkable achievements of the Georgian partners in the process of internal reforms. We are available to further assist the authorities in Tbilisi in the process of getting closer to the European and Euroatlantic structures," stated Minister Teodor Baconschi.

The members of the Group analyzed the security situation in Georgia and the South Caucasus, with emphasis on the settlement of conflicts in the separatists regions of Abkhazia and South Ossetia. In the context, they reiterated their support for Georgia's independence, sovereignty and territorial integrity, and also the need to stick to an active Allied approach with a view to settling the conflicts in the territory of Georgia.

"We support the reopening of an OSCE office in Georgia, which would contribute, besides monitoring of the situation in the field, to building confidence between the parties involved in the conflict and to creating new dialogue channels between them," the head of the Romanian diplomacy further stated.

## **Background**

Romania is a founding member of the Group set up in 2005. The chief goal of this cooperation format is to assist Georgia in its bid for European and Euroatlantic integration, by putting to good use the experience of the Group's members.

The New Group of Friends of Georgia includes Lithuania, Romania, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Canada, Bulgaria, Slovakia, Hungary, Latvia, Poland, the USA as well as Sweden (which was not represented at the Group's meeting in Berlin, as it is not a NATO member).

© Copyright 2008 MAE. Toate drepturile rezervate.

https://www.mae.ro/en/print/8330